Donate Hello my name is

Zeus

Age 22
Birthday 1/21/1997
Rescued From Research

Member of
Tapioca’s Family

I am an Aquarius.

My Personality

  • Powerful
  • Reserved
  • Stoic

My Favorite Things

  • Unbreakable Mirrors
  • Dried Fruit
  • Nuts

My Biggest Fan Thinks

“Zeus inspires so much love in his caregivers. When I first started, I heard people talking about how incredible he is. When I got to know him, I quickly understood what all the fuss was about. He isn’t outgoing with humans, but he gives subtle signs of appreciation that make us swoon. A simple nod of acknowledgement from Zeus will make you feel extremely special. He has us all wrapped around his finger.”

 Skye Conners
Care Technician III
Team Member Since 2014

 

Zeus

Click for photos of Zeus

My History

I was born January 21, 1997 to parents Lupe and Gromek at the Coulston Foundation, a laboratory in New Mexico. I was described as strong though somewhat small. Because Lupe was an attentive mother, I was allowed to stay with her for fourteen months until I was taken from her to be introduced to other babies (Venus and Walden) in anticipation of being shipped to Bioqual, a laboratory in Maryland. A behavioral assessment done during this time describes me as antisocial towards humans and my peers. I did not like being handled by humans or being held by other chimps, although I did seem fond of Venus.

Despite being a sickly toddler, I was put on research protocols and at four years I had bone marrow removed from my left leg twice for a study. I also had several liver biopsies over the years. This was often done weekly for an extended period of time. After suffering from diarrhea and multiple hot spots on my skin I became so dehydrated I needed fluids and was being fed through a tube. My skin became so dry it needed to be treated with lotion on a daily basis. At this point allergy testing was done and it was discovered I was allergic to wheat. This led to being put on a wheat free diet.

While at Bioqual, my caregivers noted that I liked to look at myself in the mirror. For naptime I would carefully spread out a blanket to lie on. When I returned to New Mexico, the old lab had been taken over by Save the Chimps and I discovered that great improvements had been made. There would be no more painful procedures and I was given the opportunity to make new friends and eventually live with a large group. We had toys, and blankets, and were given new delicious food choices.

My family and I moved to Florida in 2011 and experienced life on the island for the first time. I enjoy exploring the island during the morning and will usually choose to relax underneath the cool fans in the afternoon. I like to sit back and watch the action around me in a reserved and stoic manner. Venus and I continue to have a strong friendship and I always have her back if the group is getting too wild. I am enjoying life under the warm Florida sun surrounded by a family that loves me.

Donate today to support Zeus.